IAC Announces 2023 Scholarship Award Recipients

7 Jul 2023, by Jessica Roth Share :

The Idaho Association of Counties (IAC) has named the 2023 recipients of the IAC Scholarship. After a competitive review process, seven students from across the state of Idaho were selected from a pool of 57 applicants to each receive a $1,000 scholarship from the IAC Scholarship Fund.

Award Recipients:

-Miles Taylor, Senior, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, District 1;

-Emily Mottern, Senior, Deary High School, District 2;

-Devyn Young, Senior, Weiser High School, District 3;

-Makaya Boyer, Senior, Gooding High School, District 4;

-Taedyn Jacobsen, Senior, Firth High School, District 5;

-Mia Butikofer, Senior, Sugar Salem High School, District 6; and

-Chloe Barron, Senior, Thunder Ridge High School, Bob MacKenzie Memorial Scholarship.

This year’s selection of winners was unique as there are typically seven award recipients; six of which are granted by district and the seventh receiving the Bob MacKenzie Memorial Scholarship from the IAC Scholarship Fund.

Since the IAC Scholarship Fund’s implementation in 2003, 151 individual scholarships have been award to recipients across Idaho. The scholarship is available to the children of county employees and to the children or grandchildren of current county elected officials. The 2024 scholarship application will be available from October 15, 2023 until February 29, 2024. Visit our website to learn more and make a plan to apply here.

The scholarship is funded by county elected officials and employees who make annual contributions through personal donations, auctions, and additional fundraising efforts. The extraordinary efforts and generosity of county elected officials, county employees, and corporate sponsors has made the IAC Scholarship Fund a success for two decades, and it will continue to serve as a resource for Idaho students.

Learn more details about how you can support the IAC Scholarship Fund here.

Miles Taylor, District 1
Emily Mottern, District 2
Devyn Young, District 3
Makaya Boyer, District 4


Taedyn Jacobsen, District 5
Mia Butikofer, District 6
Chloe Barron, Bob MacKenzie