CAT Board Welcomes Two New Members

18 Jan 2017, by admin Share :

The Catastrophic Health Care Cost Program welcomed two new board members on January 1st: Senator Maryanne Jordan, Boise, and Commissioner Bill Lasley, Power County. Legislators are appointed to the CAT Board by legislative leadership. Legislators serve at the will of their legislative body and all terms of service are indefinite.

Senator Jordan is serving her second term in the state legislature and has been on the Boise City Council for 13 years.  She will complete her current term on the city council and retire.

Commissioner Lasley is serving his second term as Power County Commissioner. He was raised in Pocatello and attended Idaho State University. Prior to becoming a commissioner, Lasley has worked for the Power County Sheriff’s Office, Power County Probation, and the State of Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. Commissioner Lasley is currently serving on the POST Juvenile Council representing Idaho Association of Counties.

The CAT Program was developed by IAC in 1984. Its purpose was to enable counties to pool their money for catastrophic medical indigent claims above $11,000. Beginning in FY1994, the state assumed the financial responsibility for the program by paying for claims in excess of $11,000. Since March 2010, IAC has contracted with the CAT Program to perform administrative duties. For more information on the CAT Progam, contact Kathryn Mooney, CAT Program Director.