Make a Donation Today!

2022 – Robert Swainston, Franklin County Commissioner, and Boyd Burbank, Franklin County Commssioner award the Bob MacKenzie memorial scholarship to Derek Christensen

2021 – Missy McLaughlin, Nez Perce County Treasure, Dan Anderson, Nez Perce County Assessor, and Patty Weeks, Nez Perce County Clerk award the District 2 scholarship to Jamie Teed

2020- Jordan Stoddar, Fremont County Commissioner, and Leroy Miller, Fremont County Commissioner award the District 6 scholarship to Leroy’s granddaughter, Megan Miller

2022 IAC Scholarship Recipients

District 1
Hannah Griffin, Kootenai County

District 2
Samuel Grant, Latah County

District 3
Ashlyn Creech, Payette County

District 4
Hazel Fuqua, Gooding County

District 5
Braxton Marlatt, Bingham County

District 6
Hannah Burrell, Fremont County

Bob Mackenzie Memorial Scholarship
Derek Christensen, Franklin County

Bob Mackenzie Memorial Scholarship
Caleb Hampton, Butte County

Seven scholarships are typically awarded each year; one per IAC District and an additional Bob Mackenzie Memorial Scholarship. 2022 was unique in that two Bob Mackenzie Memorial Scholarships were awarded to equally deserving recipients.

Program Details

The Idaho Association of Counties (IAC) Scholarship Fund was created in 1996 and named the Charles Nickel Scholarship Fund in 1997.  This scholarship was created to assist children of county employees and children and grandchildren of county elected officials with the increasing cost of college tuition.


Children of county employees (county employees are those who are issued a paycheck by the county) working 20 hours or more per week and the children and grandchildren of county elected officials (assessors, clerks, commissioners, coroners, prosecuting attorneys, sheriffs, and treasurers).

Recipients must attend a college, university or vocational/technical school full-time for the 2022-2023 academic year and be enrolled in either an academic or a vocational education program leading towards a degree or certification.


The deadline for the 2023-2024 scholarship is Tuesday, February 28, 2023. To download the 2023 IAC Scholarship Application for additional rules and application requirements, please click one of the download buttons below. 


Please call or email Mindy Linn, Idaho Association of Counties at (208) 514-0413.