Redistricting Commission Appointments Complete

2 Aug 2021, by Sara Westbrook Share :

Every 10 years, Idaho legislative districts are required to readjust based on the latest census by a redistricting commission made up of three Republicans and three Democrats. The committee members are chosen by the Senate Pro Tem, Speaker of the House, Idaho Republican Party Chair, Senate Minority Leader, House Minority Leader and the Idaho Democrat Party Chair.

Committee Make Up

Senate Pro Tem Chuck Winder appointed Bart Davis, a Bonneville County native. Davis served in the Idaho Senate for almost 20 years including eight terms as the Senate Majority Leader. He left the Senate upon his appointment as the U.S. Attorney over Idaho during the Trump administration.

Speaker Scott Bedke appointed Tom Daley a former state representative from Ada County. Tom Daley served in the House of Representatives for District 21 for three and a half terms. Midway through his fourth term, he was appointed by the Trump administration to be the Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency. 

Republican Party Chair Tom Luna appointed Eric Redman, a Kootenai County resident. A small business owner, Redman also served two terms in the Idaho Legislature representing District 2. 

Senate Minority Leader Michelle Stennett appointed Dan Schmidt. Schmidt served three terms in the Senate representing District 5. Prior to his stint in the Senate, Schmidt served for 10 years as the Latah County Coroner.

House Minority Leader Ilana Rubel appointed Amber Pence. Pence currently works in the Teton County Commissioner’s Office. Formerly, she worked for the City of Boise and is also a political fundraiser.

Democrat Party Chair Fred Cornforth named Nels Mitchell to the commission. A former University of Idaho law professor, Mitchell ran for U.S. Senate against Senator Jim Risch in 2014. He also served as an associate regional director of the Security and Exchange Commission where he oversaw 75 staffers and served as general council.

If you have any questions regarding any of these appointments, please do not hesitate to contact Sara Westbrook at or reach her on her office line at 208-514-0354. She can also be reached on her cell at 208-695-6733.