Promoting county interests, advocating good public policy
and providing education to Idaho's county officials

IAC Awards

H. Sydney Duncombe Award for Excellence in County Government

In order to promote continuing improvement in county government in the State of Idaho, and in recognition of individuals residing in this great state who have made significant contributions to the furtherance of county government, the Idaho Association of Counties’ Board of Directors established the “H. SYDNEY DUNCOMBE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN COUNTY GOVERNMENT”, in honor of Dr. H. Sydney Duncombe. For many years Dr. Duncombe was a professor of political science and served as Director of the Bureau of Public Affairs Research for the University of Idaho. During his tenure, Dr. Duncombe taught and assisted hundreds of students and county officials, providing to all a better understanding of county and local government in Idaho. He was the primary author of and is responsible for the publication of the “Handbook for County Elected Officials in Idaho.” He was the first director of the Idaho Division of Financial Management and created methods for improving and updating the budget and finance process for local government.

Past H. Sydney Duncombe Award Recipients

1988Robert FryIdaho State Tax Commissioner
1989Clyde BurtenshawBonneville County Commissioner
1990Mary KautzWashington County Clerk
1991Don PonozzoClearwater County Commissioner
1992Jim SiddowayFremont County Commissioner
1993Judi DanielsonState Representative
1994Jean EsplinBingham County Clerk
1995Anthony PoinelliIAC Deputy Director
1996Lila JordanBonneville County Treasurer
1997Caroline MelineBannock County Commissioner
1998Jack BuellBenewah County Commissioner
1999Arnold HowardFormer Payette County Commissioner
2000Ted ArgyleAda County Civil Prosecutor
2001Jerry MasonICRMP Attorney
2002Roger SimmonsAda County Commissioner
2003George EnnekingIdaho County Commissioner
2004Daniel G. ChadwickIAC Executive Director
2005Sherry KrulitzShoshone County Commissioner
2006Duane SmithMinidoka County Clerk
2007Jim McNallICRMP
2008Teresa WolfNez Perce County
2009J.R. VanTasselFormer Nez Perce County Commissioner
2010John "Jack" NelsonLatah County Commissioner
2011Bill ThompsonLatah County Prosecuting Attorney
2012Mary ChildersJerome County Treasurer
2013Patti BolenValley County Sheriff
2014Abbie MaceFremont County Clerk
2015Gordon CruickshankValley County Commissioner
2016Marc ShigetaPayette County Commissioner
2017Gene KuehnCanyon County Assessor (retired)
2018Tom KatsilometesIdaho State Tax Commissioner

Past Mills-Adler Recipients

Past Mills-Adler Recipients

2007Mike McDowellKootenai County Assessor
Robert CopeLemhi County Commissioner
Marie ScottBonner County Clerk
Erwin SonnenbergAda County Coroner
Mark HeidemanBannock County Prosecuting Attorney
Roy KlinglerMadison County Sheriff
Jeannie JohnsonClearwater County Treasurer
2008Dan AndersonNez Perce County Assessor
Abbie MaceFremont County Clerk
Wayne BrowerBingham County Commissioner
Duayne SimsCaribou County Coroner
Philip RobinsonBonner County Prosecuting Attorney
Marv WilliamsWashington County Sheriff
Barbara FryNez Perce County Treasurer
2009Robert McQuadeAda County Assessor
Dan EnglishKootenai County Clerk
Roger ChristensenBonneville County Commissioner
Harvey GrimmeOwyhee County Coroner
Kimron TorgersonLewis County Prosecuting Attorney
Dave SandersCamas County Sheriff
Gayle EreksonCassia County Treasurer
2010Jerry WhiteShoshone County Assessor
Cathy LarsonLewis County Clerk
Ken EstepPower County Commissioner
Mick MellettBoundary County Coroner
Dane Watkins, Jr.Bonneville County Prosecuting Attorney
Chris SmithCanyon County Sheriff
Mary Ann HeiserLemhi County Treasurer
2011Mellisa StewartClearwater County Assessor
Betty DressenPayette County Clerk
Gordon CruickshankValley County Commissioner
Lonny DuceShoshone County Coroner
Dustin SmithOneida County Prosecuting Attorney
Wayne RauschLatah County Sheriff
Tom MalzahnKootenai County Treasurer
2012Chris JamesCuster County Assessor
Kristina GlascockTwin Falls County Clerk
Cleone JolleyBingham County Commissioner
Jon WalkerBonneville County Coroner
Jim ThomasBlaine County Prosecuting Attorney
Dave JohnsonBingham County Sheriff
Janice LawesBingham County Treasurer
2013Georgia PlischkeWashington County Assessor
Susan PetersenLatah County Clerk
Kimber RicksMadison County Commissioner
Pamela GarlockBoise County Coroner
Clayne TylerClearwater County Prosecuting Attorney
Daryl WheelerBonner County Sheriff
Gayle BachtellCamas County Treasurer
2014Valdi PaceBlaine County Assessor
Ron LongmoreBonneville County Clerk
Lan SmithGem County Commissioner
Dennis ChambersTwin Falls County Coroner
Louis MarshallBonner County Prosecuting Attorney
Gary RaneyAda County Sheriff
Ann FreiWashington County Treasurer
2015Patrick VaughanLatah County Assessor
Glenda PostonBoundary County Clerk
Paul ChristensenCassia County Commissioner
Kathryn RoseBonner County Coroner
Bryan TaylorCanyon County Prosecuting Attorney
Paul WildeBonneville County Sheriff
Debbie KauffmanTwin Falls County Treasurer
2016June FullmerValley County Assessor
Mary Lou HansenTeton County Clerk
Lin HintzeCuster County Commissioner
Kathryn RoseBonner County Coroner
Barry McHughKootenai County Prosecuting Attorney
Chris GoetzClearwater County Sheriff
Pauline MaloneLewis County Treasurer
2017Sharon WorleyPayette County Assessor
Patty TempleMinidoka County Clerk
Helen EdwardsGooding County Commissioner
Dotti OwensAda County Coroner
Zach PallLewis County Prosecuting Attorney
Patti BolenValley County Sheriff
Radene BarkerBannock County Treasurer
2018James ZehnerIdaho County Assessor
Terri MortonLemhi County Clerk
Terry KramerTwin Falls County Commissioner
Dotti OwensAda County Coroner
Jan BennettsAda County Prosecuting Attorney
Len HumphriesFremont County Sheriff
Laura TwissMinidoka County Treasurer