Promoting county interests, advocating good public policy
and providing education to Idaho's county officials

Transportation Committee

The IAC Transportation Committee is responsible for all matters pertaining to transportation planning, highway finance, highway safety, airport development and aviation concerns, railroads, and other modes of transportation and improvements.

  • Chair

    Doug Zenner
    (Nez Perce County)

  • Vice Chair

    Jacob Greenberg
    (Blaine County)

  • IAC Staff Liaison

    Kelli Brassfield


Statement of Basic Philosophy

Idaho Association of Counties considers a balanced transportation system including highways, public transit, airports, waterways and railroads as essential to the economic success and viability of the state of Idaho.

Consequently, counties, cities, highway districts, the state of Idaho and the federal government all share a responsibility in providing a coordinated transportation system and must work together to achieve that goal for citizens of the state.


All current funding sources must remain in place, including distribution of forest receipts to counties and highway districts.  Additionally, IAC supports a change in the highway distribution formula whereby any revenue collected at the state level that is derived from user fees will be distributed using the Highway Distribution Account formula.

IAC supports a further increase in the aircraft fuel and use taxes to provide assistance to local airports.

Highway Safety

IAC believes that with funding and other technical assistance from the federal and state governments, local officials can provide programs improving traffic safety including pedestrian safety programs, seat belt use programs and focusing on removing drunk drivers from Idaho’s roads and highways.

Local Highway Technical Assistance Council

IAC supports the Local Highway Technical Assistance Council (LHTAC) to provide needed assistance to local highway jurisdictions in the following capacities:

  1. Developing uniform standards and procedures for highway maintenance, construction, operation and administration;
  2. Submitting recommendations to the Idaho Transportation Board for the distributing and prioritizing federal funds for local highway projects; and
  3. Assisting the Legislature by providing research and data relating to transportation matters affecting local highway jurisdictions within the state.
Regional Transit

IAC supports regional transit authority to provide needed road and transit infrastructure to meet the increased demands of maintenance and expansion of transit within a county or region.  IAC supports the use of local option sales tax, upon voter approval, to fund this authority.


IAC supports local county approval and authority over the preservation of RS2477 designation and their inclusion in county road maps.  Counties are not required to maintain these roads.

Special Concerns

IAC supports the control of noxious weeds on public rights-of-way.


Name County
Joe Iveson Adams County Commissioner
Michael Paradis Adams County Commissioner
Steve Brown Bannock County Commissioner
Phillip Lampert Benewah County Commissioner
Ronald Simmons Bingham County Assessor
Graig Rowland Bingham County Sheriff
Jeff Connolly Bonner County Commissioner
John "Jack" Douglas Boundary County Prosecuting Attorney
Dave Sanders Camas County Sheriff
Brian Stender Canyon County Assessor
Tracie Lloyd Canyon County Treasurer
Dwight Davis Cassia County Assessor
Greg Shenton Clark County Commissioner
Bart May Clark County Sheriff
Mike Ryan Clearwater County Commissioner
Bill Baxter Fremont County Commissioner
Jordon Stoddard Fremont County Commissioner
Hollie Ann Strang Gem County Assessor
Ron Buhler Gooding County Commissioner
Skip Brandt Idaho County Commissioner
Scott Hancock Jefferson County Commissioner
Linda Jones Lincoln County Assessor
Todd Smith Madison County Commissioner
Kent McClellan Minidoka County Commissioner
Kathleen Atkinson Oneida County Assessor
Jerry Hoagland Owyhee County Commissioner
Joe Merrick Owyhee County Commissioner
Reece Hrizuk Payette County Commissioner
Deanna Curry Power County Treasurer
Darrell "Mike" Gunderson Shoshone County Sheriff
Brent Reinke Twin Falls County Commissioner
Gordon Cruickshank Valley County Commissioner
Nathan Marvin Washington County Commissioner