

Idaho State Association of County Coroners Business Meeting Minutes

Oxford Suites, Boise, Idaho I Friday, September 27, 2024

Members Present - 22

Rich Riffle, Ada County Sue Warner, Adams County Torey Danner, Bannock County Jimmy Roberts, Bingham County Pamela Garlock, Boise County Tara Parsons, Butte County Craig Rinehart, Cassia County Craig Rinehart, Cassia County Casey Batterton, Caribou County Brenda Laird, Clark County Dennis Fuller, Clearwater County Nickie Campbell, Elmore County John Buck, Gem County

Members Absent - 22

Chad Walker, Bear Lake County Carrie Nordin, Benewah County Russ Mikel, Blaine County Robert Beers, Bonner County Rick Taylor, Bonneville County Chad Workman, Boundary County Wesley Walker, Camas County Wesley Walker, Camas County Jennifer Crawford, Canyon County Chad Workman, Custer County Brenda Dye, Fremont County Ron Smellie, Franklin County Cody Funk, Idaho County

Others Present

Flint Christensen, Bingham County Jessica Landon, Butte County Terry Bell, Cassia County Kim Savage, Custer County Jerry Rost, Elmore County Molly Hillman, Fremont County Anna Short, Gem County Muggy Hafen, Gem County Mike Dill, Lewis County PJ Curtis, Gooding County LaVar Summers, Jefferson County Mike Ernest, Lemhi County Bruce Long, Lewis County Mike Piper, Lincoln County Sam Butikofer, Madison County Lucky Bourn, Minidoka County Joshua Hall, Nez Perce County Will Carsen, Twin Falls County Scott Carver, Valley County

Dan Chatterton, Jerome County Duke Johnson, Kootenai County Catherine Mabbutt, Latah County Brad Horsley, Oneida County Aaron Tines, Owyhee County Ethan Mittelstadt, Payette County Mark Rose, Power County Mark Rose, Power County Rick Smith, Shoshone County Theresa Lerch, Teton County Gary Jensen, Washington County

Rebecca Wood, Lincoln County Lois Rinehart, Minidoka County Jonathan Yearsley, Nez Perce County Dee Gregory, Owyhee County Kristin Cundiff, IAC Kelli D. Brassfield, IAC Savanah Renslow, IAC Sara Westbrook, IAC

I. Call to order & Roll Call

Garlock called the meeting to order at 8:00 am on Friday, September 27, 2024. 22 members were present and 22 were absent.

II. Election of Officers

Nominating committee put forth the following slate: Past president - Pam Garlock; President - Torey Danner; 1st Vice President - Lucky Bourn; 2nd Vice President - Joshua Hall; District 2- Cody Funke; District 4 - Will Carson; District 6- Mike Ernest; Legislative Committee - Scott Carver; IAC Board - Lucky Bourn.

Ernest made a motion to close all nominations, Parsons seconded. Motion carried. The vote was not unanimous. There was some discussion about what the bylaws allow for nominations. The section discussed was Article IV, Section 2. "...Each officer shall represent a separate Idaho Association of Counties (IAC) District as now exists or hereafter may be established. If a candidate cannot be found to represent a separate IAC district, the Board may hold a vote to override this criteria."

III. FY2025 ISACC Budget

Garlock presented the budget with the increased IAC administrative fee.

Ernest made a motion to approve the FY2025 budget as presented, Bourn seconded. Motion carried.

IV. Legislative Update

Scott Carver provided a legislative update. There were 19 total resolutions presented at IAC. Two of the coroner's resolutions didn't pass. The legislative committee soon to prioritize the remaining resolutions. Two resolutions will directly impact the coroners.

V. Future ISACC Meetings

There was discussion about combining the coroner's conference with the main IAC conferences. IAC staff will work with ISACC Board to determine if the logistics will work and present back to the members.

VI. New Business

There was discussion about whether or not there should be an MOU created so counties can work together. It would give the coroner the ability to call other coroners for help. This would also help in mass casualty events. There are MOUs already in place and those will be provided to use as templates.

VII. Other Business

Danner presented the Mills Adler Award to Pam Garlock as she was unable to attend the IAC conference.

A bylaws committee will be put together.

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 am.