



3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

Justice and Public Safety Committee

September 26, 2023 | 8:00 am – 9:00 am Boise Centre | Room 120 A,B | Boise, ID

MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order | Chair Matt Clifford

Twin Falls County Commissioner Brent Reinke made a motion to approve the minutes from February 2023, Minidoka County Commissioner Wayne Schenk seconded. Motion carried.

Public Defense Update/Introduction | Eric Frederiksen, State Public Defender

Going to travel the state to understand the needs and concerns.

Youth Behavioral Centers | Monty Prow, IDJC

Each district has at least one center. Most are open and the rest will be open soon. The work is really positive as we are starting services with those that are younger, so they don't end up in the system and keep them in school. There has been great community communication. There now needs to be outreach to the rural parts of the counties.

Resolutions | Seth Grigg, IAC; Kelli D Brassfield, IAC

• JPS-01 Jury Trial Compensation – Abbie Mace

Right now, if the trial goes more than 5 days they get paid \$50/day. We can request reimbursement of up to \$40 from the Idaho Supreme Court. This resolution poses that the state would pay for all jury costs after the 5 days. They have paid out (see resolution). The costs to a small county have a big impact. Most don't have any, so it won't be a huge burden to the state.

Valley County Clerk Doug Miller made a motion to approve JPS-01, Minidoka County Commissioner Wayne Schenk seconded. Motion carried.

• IPS-02 EMS – Blair Dance

OPE did a study on EMS services about a year and a half ago. The study showed that we are in need of more personnel and volunteers for EMS as well as making sure our services are appropriate across the state.



We are looking for funding but haven't identified the source yet. We have talked to some recreation rangers and we may be able to get some funding through them.

Power County Commissioner Bill Lasley motion to approve JPS-02, Oneida County Commissioner Bill Lewis seconded. Motion carried.

JPS-03 Mandatory Minimums Fentanyl - Mark Bair

The legislature is trying to vet this too much. This is a time sensitive issue.

Clearwater County Sheriff Chris Goetz made a motion to support JPS-03, Ada County Coroner Rich Riffle seconded. Motion carried.

• JPS-04 911 Fee Increase – Sam Hulse

The commission was going to ask for an additional \$1.75. There is a couple different places that funding was going to go. We are standing on a dying infrastructure. We need to migrate as a state. The is a lot of discussion about who will have control (state or locals).

Current status: see slide

Fee hasn't changed since 1988. Costs have increased. Analog systems are at the end of life. Plus more. The statewide or regional structure is still up for discussion. Maybe we create a working group to make these decisions.

Status of legislation and moving forward:

Governor's office requested that the commission not move forward this year. We don't know why he requested we don't move forward. ISA has determined that \$1.00 is not enough to accomplish the goals. Concern that we are looking to increase a fee that the public

Richard Riffle motion, Sharee Sprague seconded. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:50 a.m.



Justice and Public Safety Committee

MEMBERSHIP

CHAIR

Matt Clifford Ada Sheriff

VICE CHAIR

Brent Reinke Twin Falls Commissioner

Bill Thompson

Latah Prosecutor

Trent Tripple *Ada Clerk*

Rich Riffle

Ada Coroner

Bryon Reed
Bonneville Commissioner

Chris Goetz

Clearwater Sheriff

Susan Bolton

Gooding Commissioner

Leslie Duncan Kootenai Commissioner

Leah Madsen Lemhi Commissioner

Wayne Schenk Minidoka Commissioner

Patti Bolen
Valley Sheriff

Jeff Zimmerman
Shoshone Commissioner

Angenie McCleary Blaine Commissioner

Bill Lasley
Power Commissioner

Thomas Dayley

Ada Commissioner

Penny Manning Bonneville Clerk

Blair Dance Fremont Commissioner

> Steve Anderson Jefferson Sheriff

Colleen Poole Jefferson Clerk

Joann Rutler
Lincoln Commissioner

Sharee Sprague Power Clerk

Mark Bolduc Gooding Commissioner

Jared Orton

Minidoka Commissioner

Angie Barkell Owyhee Clerk

Bill Lewis
Oneida Commissioner

Darn Ward

Adams Commissioner

Doug Miller Valley Clerk

Jack Johnson
Twin Falls Commissioner

Kristina Glascock Twin Falls Clerk

Brenda Armstrong *Lemhi Clerk*

Brent Mendenhall
Twin Falls Commissioner

Joshua Campbell Power Sheriff

Lynn Bowerman Lemhi Commissioner

Gordon Wilkerson
Washington Commissioner