WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG



3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

Intergovernmental Affairs Committee

January 31, 2023 | 1:30 pm – 3:30 pm Riverside Hotel | Boise, ID | Juniper Room

MEETING AGENDA

Chair Jeff Hough called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Chair Hough welcomed the committee members, introduced Idaho's new Secretary of State, Phil McGrane, and invited him to take a few minutes to address the committee. Secretary McGrane shared that he has a cohesive team and acknowledged that there is much to learn as a new SOS with the legislature in town simultaneously.

Nez Perce County Commissioner Doug Zenner made a motion to approve. Lincoln County Assessor Linda Jones seconded. Motion carried.

Bobbi-Jo Mueleman gave an update on the Governor's priorities, including education, \$120 M in property tax relief, and transportation priorities that include a new competitive grant program run through ITD with 50% to urban and 50% to rural to help with projects that don't qualify under other programs and would not otherwise be completed. Members of the committee asked questions about property taxes, workforce housing, EMS, and more.

Don Hall gave a quick update on the priorities and policies set by the legislative committee.

- IGA-04 Election recount fee (Legislative committee moved from a priority to a policy.)
- · IGA-06 Preliminary levy rate
- · IGA-07 HB735 clean-up
- IGA-11 Vape tax
- IGA-18 Homeowners Exemption Cleanup of HB562 (Legislative committee moved from a priority to policy.)



IAC Policy Affiliate Legislation

- · IGA-02 Change of Venue Filing Fee: S1035
- · IGA-03 Court fees paid to the state treasurer: \$1034
- · IGA-05 Food fees: Denis Duman said that Rep. Lori McCann offered to carry.
- · IGA-08 Law clerks
- · IGA-10 Precinct committee elections
- · IGA-12 Fair Advisory Board
- · IGA-13 Investment of county funds: Sara Westbrook shared that a hearing is scheduled for tomorrow at 3 p.m. in Senate Local Government and Taxation.
- · IGA-16 DMV title/vin fees (IAC changed to priority.)
- · IGA-17 Travel convention tax (IAC changed to priority.)

Sara Westbrook gave an update on House Bill 0022, which would withhold sales tax from local governments if they fail to meet specific parameters.

Westbrook also mentioned Senate Bill 1025 regarding marriage licenses and SJR101, an Initiative that alters the qualifications regarding signature requirements from 6 percent in 18 legislative districts to 6 percent in all 35 districts.

Seth Grigg shared that Rep. Blanksma proposed legislation last year to create a uniform assessment notice that would include two previous years of property taxes.

A bill that may be introduced would require the county treasurer to remit late penalties and interest to the taxing districts. The treasurers plan to discuss this at their meeting later in the week. There was a diversity of opinions regarding the issue earlier in the week.

Sara Westbrook gave an update on the EMS Sustainability Taskforce.

Seth Grigg fielded questions from the committee regarding the proposals currently being floated by the House and Senate. He explained that all property tax relief ideas are still on the table.

The committee adjourned at 3:30 p.m.



Intergovernmental Affairs Committee

Membership

CHAIR Jeff Hough Bannock Commissioner

VICE-CHAIR

Patty Weeks Nez Perce Clerk

Tom Dayley	Amber Sloan	Brent Mendenhall
Ada Commissioner	Elmore Treasurer	Madison Commissioner
Richard Riffle	Carol Blanchard	Janice West
Ada Coroner	Fremont Assessor	Minidoka Assessor
Elizabeth Mahn	Abbie Mace	Wayne Schenk
Ada Treasurer	Fremont Clerk	Minidoka Commissioner
Sherry Ward	Blair Dance	Dan Anderson
Adams Clerk	Fremont Commissioner	Nez Perce Assessor
Jason Dixon	Scott Kamachi	Doug Zenner
Bannock Clerk	Fremont Commissioner	Nez Perce Commissioner
Jannelle Sparks Jensen	J'Lene Cherry	Kathleen Atkinson
Bear Lake Assessor	Fremont Treasurer	Oneida Assessor
Tricia Poulsen	Hollie Ann Strang	Lon Colton
Bear Lake Treasurer	Gem Assessor	Oneida Clerk
Mark Reynolds	Justin Baldwin	Bill Lewis
Benewah Commissioner	Gooding Assessor	Oneida Commissioner
Donavan Harrington	Denise Gill	Ken Eliason
Bingham Assessor	Gooding Clerk	Oneida Commissioner
Mark Bair	Susan Bolton	Brian Jeppsen
Bingham Commissioner	Gooding Commissioner	Oneida Commissioner
Jim Williams	Christina "Tine" Wines	Annette Dygert
Blaine Assessor	Gooding Treasurer	Owyhee Treasurer
Stephen McDougall Graham	Kim Nuxoll	Kim Muir
Blaine Clerk	Idaho Assessor	Madison Clerk
Muffy Davis	Kathy Ackerman	Sharee Sprague
Blaine Commissioner	Idaho Clerk	Power Clerk
John David Davidson	Skip Brandt	Deanna Curry
Blaine Treasurer	Idaho Commissioner	Power Treasurer
Asia Williams	Denis Duman	Tamie Eberhard
Bonner Commissioner	Idaho Commissioner	Shoshone Clerk
Penny Manning	Colleen Poole	Jerry White
Bonneville Clerk	Jefferson Clerk	Shoshone Assessor
Bryon Reed	Ben Crouch	Karey Eddy
Bonneville Commissioner	Jerome Commissioner	Shoshone Treasurer
Olivia Drake	Bruce Mattare	Kim Keeley
Boundary Assessor	Kootenai Commissioner	Teton Clerk
Glenda Poston	David Sutherland	Havala Arnold



Boundary Clerk	Latah Assessor	Teton Assessor
Steve Stephens	Kathie LaFortune	Cindy Riegel
Butte Prosecutor	Latah Commissioner	Teton Commissioner
Brian Stender	Jenny Rosin	Brad Wills
Canyon Assessor	Lemhi Assessor	Twin Falls Assessor
Tracie Lloyd	Brenda Armstrong	Don Hall
Canyon Treasurer	Lemhi Clerk	Twin Falls Commissioner
Joseph Larsen	Leah Madsen	Sherry Maupin
Cassia Clerk	Lemhi Commissioner	Valley Commissioner
Jacquel Bruno	Linda Jones	Scott Carver
Custer Assessor	Lincoln Assessor	Valley Coroner
Lura Baker	Cindi Sievers	Lyndon Haines
Custer Clerk	Lincoln Clerk	Washington Commissioner
Wayne Butts	Joann Rutler	Donna Atwood
Custer Commissioner	Lincoln Commissioner	Washington Clerk
Steve Smith	Rebecca Wood	Sabrina Young
Custer Commissioner	Lincoln Commissioner	Washington Treasurer
Josh Dison	Ann Youts	
Elmore Assessor	Lincoln Treasurer	