

District II
Chair – Missy McLaughlin
Vice Chair – Kathie Lafortune
Secretary – Shelley Ponozzo

Minutes, January 31, 2023 The Riverside Hotel, Boise, Idaho 6:30 a.m. Breakfast with BACON

Attendance:

Clearwater County: Sheriff Chris Goetz, Commissioners Rick Miller & Vince Frazier,

Assessor Susan Spencer, Clerk Jo Ann Davis, Treasurer Dawn Erlewine

Idaho County: Commissioners Skip Brandt, Ted Lindsley & Denis Duman, Clerk Kathy

Ackerman, Assessor Kim Nuxoll, Sheriff Doug Ulmer

Latah County: Commissioner Kathie LaFortune, Tom Lamar & John Bohman, Prosecuting Attorney Bill Thompson, Clerk Julie Fry, Treasurer BJ Swanson, Assessor Dave Sutherland Lewis County: Commissioners Greg Johnson, Eric Hasselstrom & Justin McLeod, Assessor JoAnn Watson, Clerk Lisa Winner, Sheriff Jason Davis

Nez Perce County: Commissioners Don Beck & Doug Zenner, Treasurer Misty McLaughlin, Clerk Patty Weeks, Assessor Dan Anderson, Sheriff Bryce Scrimsher, NPCSO Jason Lee

Special Guests: Seth Grigg, Idaho Association of Counties; Representative Lori McCann - District 6; Representative Brandon Mitchell - District 6; Representative Charlie Shepherd - District 7

District II Chair Missy McLaughlin opened the business meeting at 7:00 a.m. by leading us in the Pledge of Allegiance.

We were honored to have three of our legislators in attendance who reported to the group as follows:

Representative Charlie Shepherd is working on legislation that would prohibit vaccine mandates, a Fish & Game bill that would increase the antlerless mule deer population, property tax relief and a bill to remove the front license plate requirement. Sheriff Chris Goetz strongly encouraged Rep. Shepherd to reconsider his stance regarding the license plate requirement, stating that the front plate is critical to law enforcement. Goetz suggested that they consider returning to stamped license plates, which are more durable than the current sticker image system.

Representative Lori McCann is working on several property tax relief proposals including an increase in the homeowner's exemption and reworking of the Circuit Breaker program. She is



District II Chair – Missy McLaughlin Vice Chair – Kathie Lafortune Secretary – Shelley Ponozzo

also working on some education proposals that include vouchers. As part of her work on the Ag Committee, she is working to build a cadre of veterinarians. Chris Goetz advised that Wyoming has a system in place that waives tuition for veterinarians if they commit to working for 4 years in the state.

Representative Brandon Mitchell advised that he is the Chair of the Transportation Committee. He reported that ISP is requesting control over the streets around the Capitol. He also reported on legislation to address same-day voter registration and the requirements.

Following the reports, there was discussion regarding 'Driver's Privilege Cards' and Stand Your Ground Law changes (both opposed by the Idaho Sheriff's Association) before our legislators left to begin their daily activities at the Capitol.

Since we had many new elected officials in attendance, we went around the room and introduced ourselves. Welcome to our new members!

Doug Zenner moved to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2022 meeting, which were previously emailed to members. Skip Brandt seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Kathie Lafortune requested that we appoint a new member to the Behavioral Health Board, preferably from Idaho County, as she is no longer able to participate. Bill Thompson nominated Skip Brandt and the nomination was seconded by Doug Zenner. After some arm-twisting and discussion, Skip accepted the nomination.

Doug Zenner reported on the Capital Crimes Defense Fund and advised that there will be an increase in county assessments in order to build back the fund balance which has recently been depleted by some very high-profile cases.

Missy McLaughlin reported on the Revenue & Taxation Committee meeting she attended and advised that the Tax Commission did a class on Urban Renewal, among other things. McLaughlin advised that our legislators will need to be further educated on many of the issues as they lack an understanding of the complex tasks we deal with daily.

Denis Duman advised that there will an information meeting with Clearwater Financial on Thursday after the Commissioners meeting to discuss forming a Solid Waste District.



District II Chair – Missy McLaughlin Vice Chair – Kathie Lafortune Secretary – Shelley Ponozzo

Our next meeting will be hosted by Lewis County. Kathy Ackerman will review our by-laws and update the members regarding the meeting schedule after which the date and exact location of the next meeting will be determined.

Doug Zenner moved to adjourn. Tom Lamar seconded the motion. Meeting was adjourned at 7:55 a.m.

Respectfully,

Kathy Ackerman Substitute Secretary