

Sharee Sprague, Power- President Lon Colton, Oneida - Vice President Douglas Miller, Valley - Secretary/Treasurer Kristina Glascock, Twin Falls - Immediate Past

## Idaho Association of County Recorders and Clerk Commissioner & Clerk Conference Best Western, Burley, Idaho June 8, 2022

## **IACRC Members Present**

Ada County Clerk, Phil McGrane
Bannock County Clerk, Jason Dixon
Bear Lake County Clerk, Amy Bishop
Bingham County Clerk, Pam Eckhardt
Blaine County Clerk, Stephen Graham McDougall
Bonneville County Clerk Penny Manning
Boundary County Clerk Glenda Poston
Butte County Clerk Shelly Blackner
Caribou County Clerk Denise Horsley
Clark County Clerk Camille Messick
Clearwater County Administrator Jo Ann Davis
Elmore County Clerk Shelley Essl
Gooding County Clerk Denise Gill
Idaho County Clerk Kathy Ackerman

Jefferson County Clerk Colleen Poole
Jerome County Clerk Michelle Emerson not here
Lemhi County Clerk Brenda Armstrong
Lincoln County Clerk Cindi Sievers
Madison County Clerk Kim Muir
Minidoka County Clerk Tonya Page
Oneida County Clerk Lon Colton
Owyhee County Clerk Angela Barkell
Payette County Clerk Lindsey Bratcher
Power County Clerk Sharee Sprague
Teton County Clerk Kim Keeley
Twin Falls County Clerk Kristina Glascock
Valley County Clerk Doug Miller
Washington County Clerk Donna Atwood

## The following visitors joined the association meeting:

- Secretary of State's Office: Chad Houck, Chief Deputy Secretary of State, Gary Dizon, Elections Division Manager
- Idaho Association of Counties: Kelli Brassfield, Amanda Steinmetz, Jessica Roth, Seth Grigg
- Tammy Ramsey, Ramsey's Health Choices
- County Deputies: Ada County Chief Deputy Trent Tripple, Ada County Assistant Chief Deputy Katie Reed.

Association President Sharee Sprague opened the meeting and introduced Clerk Elects from Ada County - Trent Tripple, Caribou County - Jill Store, Bear Lake County - Amy Bishop, and Clearwater County - JoAnn Davis. They each provided a brief overview of their back grounds and expressed how excited they were to begin their service as County Clerks.

Association Secretary Doug Miller took roll of the members.

President Sprague discussed the increase of Clerk dues and reported that there were 31 votes in favor and one vote in opposition. She advised that the Executive Committee discussed the implementation of the increase of fees. She advised that the dues were available for view on the IO Group information.

Boundary County Clerk, Glenda Poston made a motion to ratify the dues and allow the increase to be in effect for Fiscal Year 2023. Minidoka County Clerk, Tonya Page seconded the motion. No further discussion, all in favor. Motion passed to ratify the Clerk's dues and allow the increase to be in effect for Fiscal Year 2023.



Sharee Sprague, Power- President Lon Colton, Oneida - Vice President Douglas Miller, Valley - Secretary/Treasurer Kristina Glascock, Twin Falls - Immediate Past

President Sprague advised that this morning the committees would be breaking out and provided an overview of manuals that will be updated. She indicated that IAC would be providing support to work on the updates. The group discussed with the committees should gather.

Twin Fall County Clerk, Kristina Glasgock advised that the By-Laws needed to be updated. President Sprague advised that the By-Laws will be posted on the IO Group for review. President Sprague advised that the Legislative Committee was a special committee formed by the President pursuant to the By-Laws and inquired if the association wanted the committee to continue as a standing committee and included in the By-Laws. There was discussion on how the Legislative Committee would operate. Idaho County Clerk, Kathy Ackerman voiced her concerns about having the chairperson on the committee. Glenda Poston agreed with the comments and suggested made by Kathy Ackerman. Ada County Clerk, Phil McGrane provided additional comments for consideration. Lon Colton believed that an additional three members need to be added to the Legislative Committee. President Sprague presented that there were currently 8 members on the Legislative Committee. Abbie Mace provided further suggestions for consideration. President Sprague read the proposed language to be included in the By-Laws related to the Legislative Committee. She also discussed the Mills Adler Committee and inquired if additional changes to the by laws regarding those who should be on the committee. It was determined that there are currently five members on the Mills Adler Committee which is what is required per the By-Laws. President Sprague advised that the Clerks needed to nominate a secretary/Treasurer for the Clerks and an IAC Board Representative. She also read what the requirements were.

Glenda made a motion to ratify Patty Weeks to be the IAC Board Representative. Lon Colton seconded the motion. No further discussion, all in favor. Motion passed.

There were brief presentations regarding the committee meetings that had occurred. President Sprague provided a brief overview of matters related to the Judicial Committee. She primarily discussed that the Idaho Supreme Court was going to be rolling out new computers for Courts, and possible impacts to the counties. There were multiple concerns that were brought to the Clerks attention related to the proposal of rolling out new computers to include server access and other IT related issues. Kathy Ackerman discussed the new Legislative decision that TCA's were allowed to hire an assistant and asked for opinions from the group.

Amanda Steinmetz IAC Sr Financial Officer presented to the Clerks related to ARPA Funding. There were several matters discussed related to ARPA funding to include reporting requirements, expenditures, allowable expenditures, contributions.

Chief Deputy Secretary of State, Chad Houck and Gary Dizon presented to the clerks regarding the Post-election Audit Panel & Discussion. He introduced the 8 Clerks that were involved with the post-election audit and asked for comments related to the process. He discussed the process that was developed by the Idaho Secretary of States Office for selection of the counties and the process of the postelection audit.

President Sprague introduced Tammy Ramsey who is a transformational coach and Ms. Ramsey provided a presentation to the Clerks.



Sharee Sprague, Power- President Lon Colton, Oneida - Vice President Douglas Miller, Valley - Secretary/Treasurer Kristina Glascock, Twin Falls - Immediate Past

President Sprague asked for moderators for the Clerks monthly call.

The Clerks began their roundtable discussions. Matters discussed where Public Defense funding, elections, location of 2023 Clerk's Conference.

Approved:

Attest:

Douglas Miller, Secretary/Treasurer