

WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

IAC Legislative Committee

September 27, 2022 | 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm | IAC Annual Conference | Boise Centre | Room 100C

MEETING AGENDA

The following committee members were present:

Chair: Justin Baldwin, Gooding Assessor

Vice Chair: Don Hall, Twin Falls Commissioner

IACA: Josh Dison, Elmore Assessor

IACC: Doug Zenner, Nez Perce Commissioner IACRC: Angie Barkell, Owyhee Clerk IACT: Annette Dygert, Owyhee Treasurer IPPA: Vic Pearson, Franklin Prosecutor

ISA:

The following guests were present:
Sherry Maupin, Valley Commissioner
Brad Wills, Twin Falls Assessor
Kim Keely, Teton Clerk
Seth Grigg, IAC
Sara Westbrook, IAC
Kelli D Brassfield, IAC

ISACC: Dotti Owens, Ada Coroner

District 1: Dan Dinning, Boundary Commissioner District 2: Kathie LaFortune, Latah Commissioner

District 3: Phil McGrane, Ada Clerk

District 4: Wayne Schenk, Minidoka County

District 5:

District 6: Brent Mendenhall, Madison

Commissioner

WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG



3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

Call to Order | Chair Justin Baldwin

Nez Perce County Commissioner Doug Zenner made a motion to approve the minutes from August 2022. Owyhee County Treasurer Annette Dygert seconded. Motion carried.

IAC Resolutions | IAC Staff

- IGA-02 Change of venue fee
 IGA moved to have IACRC carry with IAC support.
- IGA-03 Court fees paid to the state treasurer IGA moved to have IACRC carry with IAC support.
- IGA-04 Election recount fees IGA-04 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-05 Food fees IGA-05 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-06 Preliminary levy rate
 IGA-06 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-07 HB735 clean up IGA-07 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-08 Law clerks IGA motion made/passed to have IAC support with Clerks carrying. Then Kathy Ackerman spoke up and said IACRC would carry.
- IGA-09 Election disruption
 IGA moved to have IACRC carry with IAC support.
- IGA-10 Precinct committeemen elections
 IGA moved to have IACRC carry with IAC support.
- IGA-11 Vape tax IGA-11 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-12 Fair advisory board IGA-12 passed out of committee.
- IGA-13 Investment of county funds



IGA moved to have Treasurers carry with IAC support.

- IGA-14 Adult guardianship IGA made a motion to petition IAC Board to have them create a working group.
- IGA-15 Commissioner vacancy appointment After discussion, Wayne Schenk requested the resolution be withdrawn.
- IGA-16 DMV title vin fees
 IGA moved to have the Assessors carry with IAC support.
- IGA-17 Travel convention tax
 IGA-17 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing.
- IGA-18 Homeowners exemption HB562 clean up IGA-18 passed out of committee. Committee recommends prioritizing. The committee send recommendation to add language for proration.
- JPS-01 Civil Commitment Withdrawn before conference.
- JPS-02 Domestic Terrorism Definition JPS made a motion to not move forward with JPS-02 due to a lack of information.
- TRI-01 Road Agreement TRI-01 passed out of committee.

Franklkin County Prosecutor Vic Pearson made a motion to approve the IAC resolution package. Twin Falls County Commissioner Don Hall seconded. Motion carried.

Other Business

Property tax: Senator Anthon is working on the circuit breaker program to remove the cap and reinstate the index. Rep. Skaug is working on increasing the homeowner's exemption. Realtors are concerned for a time when the homeowner's exemption could go down and they don't want that to happen. IAC staff has not heard conversations about further capping local budgets.

Public defense: IAC staff had their first meeting with the workgroup. The group is looking to build an Idaho model that works for the state. Parts of the discussion were productive and there is a path forward. The homework coming out of the meeting is to work on the organizational chart. The Governor would like to see a top down with a chief public defender but doesn't have a strong opinion on how the delivery model looks. The public defenders would like to have strong public defender oversight and less state oversight. There was consensus on rules and standards. Moving forward there isn't a need for the PDC and will work to codify rules like the ABA. This group will meet again next month.



EMS: There is a taskforce working on EMS issues. We have a handful of commissioners working on the taskforce. The goal is to create a sustainable model for EMS working in the areas of personnel, coverage, and governance. They are also working on funding. Governance is working on who should be responsible for providing the service. Personnel is working on recruitment and retention. Coverage is working on how to make sure there is proper access to services across the state.

Nez Perce County Commissioner Doug Zenner made a motion to adjourn, Valley County Commissioner Sherry Maupin seconded. Motion carried.



IAC Legislative Committee

MEMBERSHIP

CHAIR Justin Baldwin Gooding Assessor		VICE CHAIR Don Hall <i>Twin Falls Commissioner</i>	
Dan Dinning District 1: Boundary Commissioner	Terrel Tovey District 5: Bannock Commissioner		Annette Dygert IACT: Owyhee Treasurer
Justin McLeod District 2: Lewis Commissioner	Brent Mendenhall District 6: Madison Commissioner		Vic Pearson IPAA: Franklin Prosecutor
Phil McGrane <i>District 3: Ada Clerk</i>	Josh Dison IACA: Elmore Assessor		Kieran Donahue ISA: Canyon Sheriff
Wayne Schenk District 4: Minidoka Commissioner	Doug Zenner IACC: Nez Perce Commissioner Angie Barkell IACRC: Owyhee Clerk		Scott Carver ISACC: Valley Coroner

ALTERNATES

Phil Lampert District 1: Benewah Commissioner	Jessica Lewis District 5: Bingham Commissioner	John David Davidson IACT: Blaine Treasurer
Kathie LaFortune District 2: Latah Commissioner	Shayne Young District 6: Jefferson Commissioner	IPAA:
Sherry Maupin District 3: Valley Commissioner	Brad Wills IACA: Twin Falls Assessor	ISA:
Ben Crouch District 4: Jerome Commissioner	IACC: Kim Keeley IACRC: Teton Clerk	Dotti Owens ISACC: Ada Coroner