WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG



DISTRICT 2 Clearwater • Idaho • Latah Lewis • Nez Perce

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

District II IAC Meeting and Tour of Dworshak Dam Corrected Minutes for Friday, July 23rd, 2021

11:00 am MST/10:00 am PST: Meet and Greet in person at the Ponderosa Restaurant at 220 Michigan Avenue, in Orofino, Idaho.

The meeting was called to order by IAC Chairman Denis Duman. Roll call was taken for County Members and guest Association's present:

Clearwater County – Chris Goetz, Sheriff; Dawn Erlewine, Treasurer and Rick Winkel, County Commissioner - Chair and his spouse Terry Winkel

Idaho County – Denis Duman, IAC Chairman and County Commissioner; Kathy Ackerman, Clerk and her spouse Bob Ackerman; Skip Brandt, County Commissioner – Chair and his spouse Pia Brandt; and Ted Lindsley, Commissioner

Latah County – William "Bill" Thompson, Prosecuting Attorney; BJ Swanson, Treasurer; Kathie LaFortune, County Commissioner – Chair; Tom Lamar, County Commissioner and Jennifer Piper, Deputy Clerk and Administrative Assistant for the Board of County Commissioners

Lewis County – Justin McLeod, County Commissioner; Mike Ponozzo, County Commissioner and Shelley Ponozzo, Treasurer

Nez Perce County – Dan Anderson, Assessor; Don Beck, Commissioner; Patty Weeks, Clerk and Rebecca "Missy" McLaughlin, Treasurer

Idaho Association of Counties - Seth Grigg, Executive Director

Idaho State Legislature - Lori McCann, Representative

Congressional Delegation, United States Senator James E. Risch – Mike Hanna, Regional Director

Chairman Duman led a discussion on when the group would like to hold their next IAC District II meeting. With the upcoming 2021 IAC conference coming up September 27th – 29th in Boise, it was decided a breakfast meeting would be appropriate. It is planned for Tuesday, September 28th at 6:30 am (MST).

Approval of Minutes for Zoom meeting held Thursday, April 1st, 2021: A motion was made by Commissioner Skip Brandt to approve the minutes with the following corrections:

Commissioner Kathie LaFortune is the Chairperson for the Latah County Commissioners.

CHAIR

Denis Duman Idaho County Commissioner dduman@idahocounty.org 208.983.2751

VICE CHAIR Justin Coleman Nez Perce County Prosecutor justincoleman@co.nezperce.id.us sponozzo@lewiscountyid.org 208.799.3073

SECRETARY/TREASURER Shelley Ponozzo Lewis County Treasurer 208.937.2341

WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG



DISTRICT 2 Clearwater • Idaho • Latah Lewis • Nez Perce

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

Patty Weeks, Nez Perce County Clerk was in attendance for this virtual zoom meeting held Thursday, April 1st, 2021.

The motion was seconded by Commissioner Rick Winkel. Motion passed with corrections.

Approval of the Financial Report: Commissioner Rick Winkle moved to approve the Financial Report and Kathy Ackerman, Clerk, seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Chairman Duman called on Kathy Ackerman, President of the Idaho Association of County Board of Directors to give an update and extend an invitation to the 2021 Annual IAC Conference, being held this year at the Boise Centre, Boise, Idaho, September 27th – 29th, 2021.

President Ackerman introduced the other Board Members: Chris Goetz, Vice-President; Dotti Owens, 2nd Vice-President and Past Presidents from the District II area - Bill Thompson, Patty Weeks, Clayne Tyle, Dawn Erlewine and Skip Brandt. In addition to being a past President, Commissioner Brandt is currently the NACo Western Interstate Regions Representative. A discussion was held on the auctions held to sponsor the yearly scholarships provided by the IAC membership. There will be a live and silent auction this year and President Ackerman challenged the other Counties to come up with something really good from their County to be auctioned off. She had no doubt Idaho County was going to win with their contribution.

Chairman Duman called on Executive Director Seth Grigg, Representative Lori McCann and Regional Director Mike Hanna. Each gave an overview of current issues, updates and took questions from the members. All the members present appreciated the opportunity to speak with them and share their concerns and gratitude for everything they do for District II.

The meeting was adjourned by Chairman Denis Duman and the group headed to Dworshak Dam for a tour.

IAC District II would like to thank the Dworshak Project for the opportunity to visit and tour the dam and a special thank-you to Gus Garbe, Natural Resource Specialist Lead Ranger; Greg Parker, Operations Project Manager; John Chatfield, JR., Operations and Maintenance Manager and Michelle East, Park Ranger for leading the tours and giving the group such a warm welcome.

CORRECTION TO THE FRIDAY, JULY 23rd, 2021 MINUTES:

President Ackerman introduced the other Board Members from District II: Chris Goetz, who is 1st Vice President; Bill Thompson, Past President; Patty Weeks, Past President and Clerk's Representative;

CHAIR

Denis Duman Idaho County Commissioner dduman@idahocounty.org 208.983.2751

VICE CHAIR Justin Coleman Nez Perce County Prosecutor justincoleman@co.nezperce.id.us sponozzo@lewiscountyid.org 208.799.3073

SECRETARY/TREASURER Shelley Ponozzo Lewis County Treasurer 208.937.2341



DISTRICT 2 Clearwater • Idaho • Latah Lewis • Nez Perce

WWW.IDCOUNTIES.ORG

3100 S. Vista Ave., Ste. 200 Boise, ID 83705 208.345.9126

Clayne Tyler, Prosecutor's Association Representative: Dawn Erlewine, District II Representative; and Skip Brandt, WIR Representative... A discussion was held on the auctions held to sponsor the yearly scholarships provided by the IAC membership. There will be a live and silent auction this year and President Ackerman challenged the other Counties to come up with something really good from their County to be auctioned off. She had no doubt Idaho County was going to win with their contribution.

Respectfully submitted by Shelley Ponozzo District II IAC Secretary

CHAIR

Denis Duman Idaho County Commissioner dduman@idahocounty.org 208.983.2751

VICE CHAIR

Justin Coleman Nez Perce County Prosecutor justincoleman@co.nezperce.id.us 208.799.3073

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Shelley Ponozzo Lewis County Treasurer sponozzo@lewiscountyid.org 208.937.2341