DISTRICT III COUNTY ELECTED OFFICIALS MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING WEDNESDAY, October 13th, 2021 1:00 P.M.

The District III County Elected Officials met this date in a regular meeting conducted by Zoom Meeting, to act on the following items. Minutes Recorder: Secretary/ Treasurer Lyndon Haines.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Elizabeth Mahn called the meeting to order at 1:02 P.M.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Ryan Stirm led the pledge of allegiance.

III. INVOCATION

There was no invocation given.

IV. ROLL CALL

There were sufficient members for a quorum.

A. MEMBERS PRESENT

Ada County: Clerk Phil McGrane and Treasurer Elizabeth Mahn. Adams County: Assessor Stacy Dreyer. Boise County: Clerk Mary Prisco, Commissioner Steven Twilegar, Commissioner Robert Holmes, Commissioner Ryan Stirm, Prosecuting Attorney Adam Strong. Canyon County: Assessor Brian Stender and Treasurer Tracie Lloyd. Elmore County: Treasurer Amber Slone. Gem County: Assessor Hollie Ann Strang and Commissioner Mark Rekow. Owyhee County: Coroner Aaron Tines and Treasurer Annette Dygert. Payette County: Commissioner Georgia Hanigan, Commissioner Marc Shigeta, and Sherriff Andy Creech. Valley County: Clerk Douglas Miller and Treasurer Johanna Defoort. Washington County: Clerk Donna Atwood, Commissioner Lyndon Haines and Treasurer Sabrina

Young.

Guests Present: IAC staff: Kristin Cundiff, Kelli Brassfield and Sara Westbrook.

V. AMENDMENT TO THE AGENDA

X (d) – IAC Unemployment Fund Oversight Committee Representative X (e) – H. Sydney Duncombe Award.

Motion to amend agenda made by Commissioner Ryan Stirm, Second by Treasurer Annette Dygert. Motion Carried.

Commissioner Marc Shigeta discussed the process to appoint a Commissioner to the Behavioral Health Board.

Kelli Brassfield discussed the process to appoint. Commissioner Marc Rekow asked for clarification of the process.

VI. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Chairwoman Elizabeth Mahn..

There were no announcements.

VII. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING ON JANUARY 13, 2021

A. ACTION: Treasurer Sabrina Young moved to approve the meeting minutes. Treasurer Annette Dygert seconded. Motion carried.

VIII. BANK REPORT AND BUDGET REPORTS

Coroner Tines confirmed that the account has been closed and the money has been transferred to IAC.

Treasurer Annette Dygert asked how funds are used, Chairwoman Mahn discussed the use of funds.

There was discussion among the membership about the budget, the current bank balance and whether dues needed to be assessed this next year.

Treasurer Annette Dygert motioned to not assess dues this next year.

Commissioner Ryan Strim seconded. Motion carried.

It was determined that the account has a minimum requirement of \$1,000. The current balance is less than \$1,000. There was discussion among the membership of how much the dues should be.

Treasurer Sabrina Young made a motion to assess \$30 of dues per county for this year. Treasurer Annette Dygert seconded. Motion carried.

IX. BOARD AND COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. Idaho County Risk Management Program (ICRMP) Committee

Report was given by Commissioner Marc Shigeta.

He reported that the program had stabilized well from the loss of 2017. Cyber coverage had changed and there are struggles throughout the country with natural disasters and law enforcement coverage too.

B. Legislative Committee

Report was given by Clerk McGrane.

They met at the annual meeting and moved forward resolutions from committees. They will work at prioritizing those before the legislative session. There was discussion about when the House will recess and the beginning of the next session.

C. Capital Crimes Committee

Report was given by Commissioner Mark Rekow.

Their meeting was held the last day of the conference. They approved three claims. The fund balance is between 4.5 and 5 million dollars. There are a couple of cases that are upcoming that will likely be costly.

D. Gem Plan Committee

Report was given by Commissioner Marc Shigeta.

Gem Plan is experiencing great stability. They added three or four new members, bring the membership up to 25 members. They issued rebates to some counties.

E. Catastrophic Health Care Fund (CAT) Committee

There was no report given.

F. IAC Committee

Report was given by Chairwoman Elizabeth Mahn.

Assessor Mark Harvey passed away, nominations will happen during this meeting. The Board approved an Unemployment Fund.

X. Nominations: Chairwoman Elizabeth Mahn

A. District 3 Secretary/Treasurer

Sheriff Andy Creech was nominated by Commissioner Marc Shigeta

Second by Assessor Brian Stender. Motion carried.

B. IAC Board of Directors Representative

Assessor Holly Ann Strang was nominated by Assessor Brian Stender

Second by Treasurer Annette Dygert. Motion carried.

C. IAC Board of Directors Alternative

Treasurer Annette Dygert was nominated by Treasurer Amber Sloan

Second by Assessor Brian Stender. Motion carried.

D. IAC Unemployment Fund Oversight Committee Representative

Commissioner Lyndon Haines was nominated by Assessor Brian Stender

Second by Treasurer Annette Dygert. Motion Carried.

E. H. Sydney Duncombe Award

Prosecuting Attorney Adam Strong was nominated by Commissioner Holmes

Second by Commissioner Ryan Stirm. (Motion to resend the motion)

IAC Director Seth Grigg was nominated by Treasurer Amber Sloan.

Second by Treasurer Annette Dygert.

Assessor Robert (Bob) McQuade was nominated by Assessor Brian Stender.

Second by Assessor Hollie Ann Strang.

A poll of the membership was taken on Zoom between Seth Grigg and Robert (Bob) McQuade.

The poll results: Assessor Robert (Bob) McQuade will be our nominee.

XI. Swearing in of Officers: Chairwoman Elizabeth Mahn swore in the following officers:

Sheriff Andy Creech (Secretary Treasurer)

Commissioner Lyndon Haines (Vice Chair)

Coroner Aaron Tines (Chairman)

XII. Open Discussion

There was none.

Coroner Aaron Tines thanked Chairwoman Mahn for her service as Chairwoman.

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

The next meeting will be Wednesday, January 12th, 2022 hosted by Canyon County.

Treasurer Tracie Lloyd made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Treasurer Sabrina Young seconded. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 2:09 PM.